Photo By Ken Cook

Angel Delgado Named to 2018 Oscar Robertson Trophy Preseason Watch List

ST. LOUIS – Seton Hall men’s basketball senior center Angel Delgado (Bajos De Haina, Dominican Republic) continues to make an early push as a National Player of the Year contender, as the defending NCAA rebounding champion has been placed on the 2018 Oscar Robertson Trophy Watch List, the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) announced Monday. Delgado is one of 32 student-athletes to appear on the watch list, which was selected by members of the association’s board of directors.

The award is to be presented to the national player of the year by its namesake at the NCAA Final Four in San Antonio. In mid-March, the USBWA will announce its 2017-18 All-America Team and, at that time, finalists will also be chosen for the player of the year. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Delgado has already been decorated with numerous preseason distinctions, including preseason All-BIG EAST first team, the 2018 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award Watch List and preseason All-America recognition by multiple media outlets. He is the NCAA’s active career leader in rebounds (1,053) and double-doubles (50), the only active Div. I student-athlete with at least 1,000 career points and 1,000 career rebounds and is coming off winning the 2017 NCAA rebounding title (13.1/game). In 2016-17, he grabbed over 200 more rebounds more than anyone else in the BIG EAST, set the conference’s single-season rebounding record (14.1/game) and became the first BIG EAST player to ever record 20 rebounds or more in back-to-back conference games. He was a first-team All-BIG EAST selection, a finalist for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award and the recipient of the 2017 Haggerty Award as the Met Writers Player of the Year. Delgado is one of only five Seton Hall student-athletes to ever record 1,000 points and 1,000 rebounds in his career, and he is poised to finish his career second only to Hall of Famer Walter Dukes in career rebounds.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation’s oldest player of the year award and the only one named after a former player.

Article courtesy of Seton Hall Athletics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *